FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact:

Mica Odom, 512-691-3451, modom@edf.org

Statement of Former State Regulators Expressing Confidence in the Ability of Regulators and the Regulatory System to Implement EPA's Clean Power Plan

(Dallas, TX – July 16, 2014) With the issuance by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) of the first proposed carbon pollution standards for existing generation plants, we come together as a non-partisan group of former state utility commissioners from all regions of the U.S. to express confidence in the continuing ability of state utility regulators to do their part in implementing the rules in a manner that meets the environmental goals while maintaining reliability and managing rate impacts. As former regulators, we consider an affordable and reliable energy supply to be vital to the nation's future economic growth, security, and quality of life. We believe the basic structure of the proposed rule is well grounded and provides a sound basis for regulating the power sector's emissions of carbon in the United States.

In years past, environmental compliance required capital investment in scrubbers and other equipment at the plants generating electricity. The proposed requirements issued by EPA in June under the 'Clean Power Plan' offer many additional cost-effective tools to achieve compliance and present greater flexibility to states to craft individual, multi-state, or regional plans, based on potential emission reductions. The tools available for compliance include efficiency improvements at coal plants, increased dispatch of lower-emitting plants, increased renewable resources, and energy efficiency. The National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC) sought flexibility from the EPA, knowing that it would increase the complexity of compliance but also give state officials the ability to cost-effectively manage compliance.

The compliance tools contemplated by the proposed rules, including energy efficiency and renewable energy, are not new to utility regulators. The transition to cleaner technologies and the availability of effective measures to reduce carbon emissions have been underway for some time with the states' leadership as 'laboratories of democracy.' Many of the signatories to this letter were involved in proceedings across the country to approve facilities and pilots that proved out the effectiveness of these tools. States can now make use of these proven, cost-effective technologies to meet the EPA Clean Power Plan's standards to the benefit of customers across the country.

The signatories to this statement have confidence and every reason to believe state regulators can and will rise to the challenge.

Susan Parker, Alabama, 2006-2010 Renz Jennings, Arizona, 1985-1999 Kris Mayes, Arizona, 2003-2010 Rachelle Chong, California, 2006-2009 Dian Grueneich, California, 2005-2010 Susan P. Kennedy, California, 2003-2005 Matt Baker, Colorado, 2008-2012 Ron Binz, Colorado, 2007-2011 Ron Lehr, Colorado, 1983-1991 James Tarpey, Colorado, 2008-2014 Edward M. Meyers, District of Columbia, 1990-2002 Rick Morgan, District of Columbia, 2003-2011 Agnes A. Yates, District of Columbia, 1993-2008 Ennis Leon Jacobs, Jr., Florida, 1998-2002 Carlito Caliboso, Hawaii, 2003-2011 John Cole, Hawaii, 2006-2012 Darrel Hanson, Iowa, 2007-2014 Diane Munns, Iowa, 1999-2006 Sherman Elliott, Illinois, 2008-2012 Bob Lieberman, Illinois, 2005-2009 Janet Gail Besser, Massachusetts, 1995-1997 David Cash, Massachusetts, 2011-2014 Paul Hibbard, Massachusetts, 2007-2008 Susan Tierney, Massachusetts, 1988-1991 Tim Woolf, Massachusetts, 2007-2010

Allen Freifeld, Maryland, 2004-2009 Cheryl Harrington, Maine, 1982-1991 David Moskovitz, Maine, 1984-1989 Bill Nugent, Maine, 1991-2003 Sharon Reishus, Maine, 2003-2010 Phyllis Reha, Minnesota, 2001-2013 Clifton Below, New Hampshire, 2005-2012 Nancy Brockway, New Hampshire, 1998-2003 Scott Weiner, New Jersey, 1990-1991 Douglas Howe, New Mexico, 2011-2012 Renee Guild, Nevada, 1983-1984 Carl Linvill, Nevada, 2003-2006 Rose McKinney-James, Nevada, 1988-1993 Stephen Wiel, Nevada, 1984-1992 Robert E. Curry, New York, 2006-2012 Cheryl Roberto, Ohio, 2008-2012 Jim A. Roth, Oklahoma, 2007-2009 Ron Eachus, Oregon, 1987-2001 Roger Hamilton, Oregon, 1992-2001 James B. Atkins, South Carolina, 2000-2004 Karl Rabago, Texas, 1992-1995 Richard Cowart, Vermont, 1987-1999 Michael Dworkin, Vermont, 1999-2005 Richard Sedano, Vermont, 1991-2001 Lauren Azar, Wisconsin, 2007-2011 Mark Meyer, Wisconsin, 2004-2011